The Chinese Society for the Study of French History (SCEHF)

Founded in 1978, the SCEHF provides a close link throughout China between researchers and academics working on the history of Europe and, in particular, the history of France. Among its founding members were a number of renowned professors from the "older" generation of specialists in France and its history, including Mr. Zhang Zhilian, professor at Peking University and SCEHF's first honorary president, and two other honorary presidents: Mr. Wang Yangchong, professor at the East China Normal University in Shanghai, and Mr. Duanmu Zheng, professor at Sun Yat-sen University in Guangzhou.

In 2003, the leadership of the SCEHF was renewed and a younger generation took over. Ms. Duanmu Mei of the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences was elected President in cooperation with Mr. Li Hongtu of Fudan University in Shanghai and Mr. Shen Jian of Zhejiang University in Hangzhou. A new era began with the birth of the Autumn University in 2004, also supported by the French Embassy in China. The SCEHF organizes many other scientific activities, and holds a General Assembly every year at different universities across the country to facilitate meetings between historians of at least three generations.

In 2015 after two terms as President Ms Duanmu Mei was elected as Honorary President of SCEHF and Mr Shen Jian elected to succeed her as President.

Since 1978, the SCEHF, with its experience and reputation in the world of Chinese historians, has made a major contribution to the training of young and not-so-young historians currently working throughout the country on the history of France or Europe, to the publication of important works in this field, to the dissemination of French culture and to the strengthening of Sino-French scientific relations.